More News

European Chamber of Commerce Singapore welcomes new president and board of governors

At its annual general meeting yesterday.

The European Chamber of Commerce in Singapore (EuroCham) welcomed its new President, Mr. Jan B. Djerf, at its Annual General Meeting (AGM) held on Thursday, the 26th March 2015 at the Tower Club.

Mr. Djerf was elected President for a term of 2 years 2015-2017. He represents the Swedish Business Association in Singapore on the EuroCham Board and has been an active Board member since 2005 and Vice-President since 3 years.

Djerf remained confident in shouldering the responsibilities set before him and encouraged members and the Board alike to work together to forge greater business partnerships.

As Singapore continues to develop itself as a regional hub for major industries, EuroCham’s relevance becomes strikingly important to offer a support base for European companies that are looking to Asia to expand their operations.

The AGM saw the vibrancy of the Chamber through the numerous events that have been organized, with special mention of the Chamber’s successful flagship events – Europe Day Celebration Luncheon which took place on 5th May 2014 and welcomed special guest, Mr. Lim Hng Kiang, Minister for Trade and Industry.

The second flagship event of the Chamber is the Schuman Lecture Gala Dinner, in which the 5th edition was held on the evening of 17th November 2014 and welcomed Guest-of-Honor, Mr. Herman Van Rompuy, then President of the European Council. EuroCham’s members were also offered a calendar of events that they can expect in the months ahead.

The meeting was brought to a close with the election of 6 new corporate representatives to the Board of Governors.

The Board also introduced the newly elected President and his new Office Bearers: Ms. Sirpa Ikola, representing the Finnish Business Council was re-elected as Vice President; Mr. Stefano Poli, representing Anteus, Mr. Hugo Walkinshaw representing the British Chamber of Commerce and Mr. Mark Gabel were elected as new Vice Presidents. Mr. Andrew Naylor, from Cicero Group was reconfirmed as Treasurer, and Dr. Knut Unger representing the Austrian Business Association Singapore was re-nominated as Secretary. 

Do you know more about this story? Contact us anonymously through this link.

Click here to learn about advertising, content sponsorship, events & rountables, custom media solutions, whitepaper writing, sales leads or eDM opportunities with us.

To get a media kit and information on advertising or sponsoring click here.