AVIATION | Staff Reporter, Singapore

SIA Group permits transit flights from Australia and New Zealand

However, transfers to and from flights operated by other airlines are still not permitted.

Singapore Airlines (SIA) and SilkAir customers from select cities in Australia and New Zealand will be able to transit through Singapore Changi Airport to any destination in the SIA Group network currently operated by its three airlines starting 11 June, a press release revealed.

However, SIA clarified that these transit flights are only for outbound journeys from selected cities in Australia and New Zealand. These cities are Sydney, Perth, Adelaide, Brisbane and Melbourne in Australia; and Auckland and Christchurch in New Zealand.

Passengers will not be able to transit from other points in the SIA Group network through Singapore into these cities, SIA said. Transfers to and from flights operated by other airlines are also not permitted.

They will implement limited or no seat selection processes during the booking phase to meet regulatory requirements. Advance pre-paid seat selection has also been temporarily suspended for new bookings.

Do you know more about this story? Contact us anonymously through this link.

Click here to learn about advertising, content sponsorship, events & rountables, custom media solutions, whitepaper writing, sales leads or eDM opportunities with us.

To get a media kit and information on advertising or sponsoring click here.