MEDIA & MARKETING | Staff Reporter, Singapore

2017 MPAS Awards now open for nominations

Deadline for nominations will be on August 18.

Nominations for the 2017 MPAS Awards are now officially open.

The Media Publishers Association Singapore (MPAS) Awards is back in its 11th year to honour the most innovative and outstanding media publishers and personalities in Singapore. The 2017 MPAS Awards is the only independent media awards in the country to recognise exceptional performances by industry players.

Nominations are now officially open for MPAS members. If you are a non-member and a Singapore-registered publisher who wish to nominate, fill out a short membership form.

Deadline for all submissions will be on 18 August 2017, at 5 PM.

The MPAS Awards and Media Ball will be held on 26 September 2017, Tuesday, at the Fullerton Hotel Singapore.

Register now through the online nomination form.

Media of the Year, Trade Media of the Year and Project of the Year by Category Awards

Awards will be given in each category: “Media of the Year,” “Project of the Year,” and the “Trade Media of the Year” category. The “Media of the Year” award recognises a consumer media title that is the best in that category. The “Trade Media of the Year” category likewise recognises the media that is best for B2B. The “Project of the Year” award is designed to recognise a special project or initiative and can include but is not limited to print, digital, apps, social media, multimedia, and can be both in consumer and trade. Nominations are platform agnostic and can be for print, digital, or both. Some examples of awards would be “Architecture Media of the Year,” “Architecture Trade Media of the Year,” and “Architecture Project of the Year.”

The categories available for nomination are:

  • Alumni
  • Animals & Pets
  • Architecture
  • Art
  • Automotive
  • Business
  • Celebrity & Gossip
  • Children
  • Chinese
  • Club
  • Consumer Review
  • Corporate
  • Custom
  • Current Affairs
  • Education
  • Entertainment
  • Expat Media (By Language)
  • Fashion
  • Financial
  • Fitness
  • Food
  • Geographic
  • Health & Wellness
  • High Society
  • High Fashion Men's
  • High Fashion Women's
  • Home & Interior Design
  • Hobby
  • In-Flight
  • Lifestyle guide
  • Luxury Media
  • Malay
  • Men’s
  • Music
  • Parenting
  • Philosophy
  • Photography
  • Property
  • Recreation
  • Science
  • Scientific
  • Sports
  • Student (Nomination fee waived)
  • Tamil
  • Technology
  • Tourism
  • Travel
  • Vacation
  • Watch & Jewellery
  • Wedding
  • Women’s
  • Yacht

Digital Media Awards

Entries for the following awards must demonstrate originality and campaign success. It must also highlight innovation, noteworthy content, and active user engagement.

  • Mobile App of the Year
  • Video of the Year
  • Technology Innovation of the Year
  • Podcast of the year
  • Vlog of the Year
  • Multimedia Project of the Year
  • Video Platform of the Year
  • Gaming platform of the Year
  • Consumer Website of the Year
  • Business Website of the Year
  • Animation of the Year

Media Talent and Personality Awards

The following awards are given to the outstanding individuals in the media industry and to recognise their works over the past year:

  • Editor of the Year (Consumer and Trade)
  • Writer of the Year (Consumer and Trade)
  • Columnist of the Year (Consumer and Trade)
  • Photographer of the Year (Consumer and Trade)
  • Art Director of the Year (Consumer and Trade)
  • Marketing Professional of the Year (Consumer and Trade)
  • Advertising Sales Professional of the Year (Consumer and Trade)

Special Awards

Meanwhile, these awards recognise particular achievements in the media industry and are awarded in gold, silver, and bronze:

  • Feature of the year (gold, silver, bronze)
  • Front Cover of the Year (Consumer) - (gold, silver, bronze)
  • Best New launch (gold, silver, bronze)
  • Event of the Year (gold, silver, bronze)
  • Exhibition of the Year (gold, silver, bronze)
  • Website of the Year (gold, silver, bronze)
  • Special Edition of the Year (gold, silver, bronze)
  • Contract Publication of the Year (gold, silver, bronze)
  • Student Project of the Year

Note that the 2017 MPAS Awards are only open to MPAS members.

All members are entitled to one nomination free of charge, additional entries are priced at S$200 per entry.

To join the MPAS please fill out the membership form.

Only entries from publications during the period of September 2016 to August 2017 will be accepted.

For more information, please contact Andrea Pascual at

Do you know more about this story? Contact us anonymously through this link.

Click here to learn about advertising, content sponsorship, events & rountables, custom media solutions, whitepaper writing, sales leads or eDM opportunities with us.

To get a media kit and information on advertising or sponsoring click here.